Entering the Real-World of Social Enterprise

This weekend, I’m wrapping up a 9-month Business of Social Innovation certificate program with Impact Entrepreneurs, at Portland State University led by Cindy Cooper and Jacen Greene – two gifted business professionals and academic coaches. I have a wealth of gratitude from this experience, more than I can capture here. Its been an episode of deep learning and exploration. It is the most hands on university program that I have participated in during my fifteen year career (at this point, I could move forward to carry out a thorough business plan to raise funding for my proposed social enterprise). I’ve continued to learn about myself, especially my desire to excel as an entrepreneur or intrapreneur (the latter is a better fit right now). The experience further validated my love of purposeful learning and desire to use my business background to be a changemaker or wavemaker (not the squishy, feel-good stuff but the real, long term kind of self-sustaining change).

IMG_5197 IMG_5236IMG_5244

While this was primarily an online course, in the past two week we spent three-days visiting social enterprises in the fashion, coffee and IT industries and more.

  • Central City Concern has demonstrated the innovative and persevering leadership in transforming the lives of people who ,
  • My Street Grocery, Amelia Pape has built a platform for community led food access.
  • Seeko Designs has an amazing story about empowering women and bridging communities between high and low income countries while raising the integrity of fashion
  • Sustainable Harvest demonstrated the systemic, sophisticated innovation behind supply chain for some people’s favorite beverage.
  • Grammen Intel is delivering, sustainable locally designed and adapted IT solutions to improve agricultural yields, economic development and maternal health into low-income communities.

Practicing my listening skills, increasing my understanding of the real social business world was an outcome I sought at the start of the course which I achieved. I also added new tools to my toolbox (more to come on the business model canvas), met friends and future entrepreneurs who I’m confident with catalyze change. My head and heart are full contemplating the possibilities.

Leave a Reply

