TED Tuesday | Everyone has a story

There are Throwback Thursdays, Webcast Wednesdays and so forth. This week I’m starting my own series called TED Tuesdays. Like many of the 1000s of TED followers, I watch a TED or TEDx recording weekly. More often than not, I listen to a talk and learn something new, I’m inspired to make a change or act on one of the ideas that the presenters shared. TED Tuesday posts will highlight my favorite talks and sound bites in the spirit of reflection, inspiration and daring to do things and think differently. This first post focuses on a TED talk that was recorded at the 2015 TED Global event in Vancouver, B.C, in February.

Who: Dave Isay, founder of StoryCorps, the single largest collection of human voices ever recorded

The theme of his talk: Everyone around you has a story the world needs to hear

He shared:

  • Four phrases that carry enormous power, “Thank you, I love you, Forgive me, I forgive you” (Book: Four Things that Matter Most by Ira Byock)
  • Listen a little more and shout a little less
  • People are basically good
  • There is an unimaginable spirit of human forgiveness
  • Every life matters equally and infinitely

My aha moment(s): Listening is an act of love and generosity. Find your courage, tell your story and leave nothing important unsaid.

Learn more: http://www.ted.com/talks/dave_isay_everyone_around_you_has_a_story_the_world_needs_to_hear

Leave a Reply

